There are a couple of steps to keep in mind when releasing and publishing your content to the live Minddistrict platform.
- Add metadata
- Send your release request to the Minddistrict Sevicedesk
1. Add metadata
It's important to add metadata to every piece of content you create. The metadata is information about the content that the therapist or client can read about in the catalogue. You can add metadata in the metadata menu on the left side of the screen in the menu.
In order to add your work to the CMS system, you need to commit your changes. Do this at least once a day. After you have saved your document, you go to the tab 'version control'. When you open this tab you can see a couple of things:
|Status||You will only see this if you made changes. It tells you if you made any changes or not. Under Status you can see a couple of things:|
Modified: Here you can see which content you have changed. For example: document or result.
Added: Here you can see which resources you have added.
|Wijzigingen||Modifications: Here you can see all the changes you have made after your last commit.|
|Versies||Here you will find a summary of all previously made versions.|
|Geschiedenis||Here you can see all the changes made in the past;|
Under the tab 'Version control' are a couple of buttons visible:
- Commit: add your work to the CMS system. If you have the roles of editor and releasemanager, you'll find the 'release' button right after clicking on commit. Read further below what this button does.
- Revert: withdraw the changes you saved after your last commit. All you have changed will be changed back to how it was.
If you are happy with the changes you see in the modifications, you can commit. You are asked to write a commit message. In this, you write as exact as possible what you have changed in the document. This makes documentation on the release much easier (you can see exactly who changed what when and for what reason).
Before Minddistrict can activate your content, one of the steps is releasing the content in the CMS. Only people with the role of 'release manager' can do this. If you don't have this role, check which of your colleagues is responsible for releasing content. If you are release manager, follow these steps:
- Within the document or template, click ‘version control’ on the left side of your screen.
- Use the button ‘release’ at the top right of the page. Don’t see this button yet? That means there are uncommitted changes. Please ask the editor to commit these changes. If you are an editor yourself, you can do this yourself ofcourse.
- Write a release message (be aware that this message may become visible to end users!).
Important! You should release every piece of content in your release request. This means every template, including ALL underlying documents! So check them all before going to step 4!
Is the content committed and released? The release manager should publish the content.
What happens after you publish content?
- New content: the content is available after the Service Desk has activated it for you on your requested platforms.
- Updated content: the changes will be applied immediately to all platforms where this content has already been activated
5. Send your release request to the Minddistrict Servicedesk
Do you want to activate new content or have existing content activated on more platforms? Or have content removed from your platform(s)?
Send an email to the Minddistrict Servicedek with the following information:
- The URL(s) of the platforms
- The IDs of the content
- Do you want the content activated or deactivated?